Any one can explain about the mono column structures...?

Dnyan Deshmukh

Staff member
This type of structure also called as lotus building.

Where all load transferred to single column and footing.

L&T head quarter at Manipakkam, Chennai has same type of structure build very long back in time.

It look beautiful.
l-t-construction-ltd-manapakkam-chennai-6bsvt.jpg

Dnyan Deshmukh

Staff member
I am not a structural designer and never did designing of structure so cant explain you.

It works like having a base column on which all columns are float(How we add floating column in structure when we miss it or its need of design aspect and make sure load distribution through that heavy beams to below columns).

You need to wait for Expert to comment on it.

Reactions: Mr.Kumar

Narendra

Staff member
Fantastic Rajjogisi and Dnyan sir,
Now as you started this wonderful discussion. One historical monument from Chittorgarh Fort,Rajasthan comes in my mind which i have visited once.
I would like to bring this to your notice that this kind of MONO COLUMN STRUCTURE OR STRUCTURAL TECHNIQUE , I have observed there.
VIJAYA STAMBHA IN Chittorgarh Fort , Rajasthan which was built in 1448.
What i observed that, Vijaya Stambha was standing on a single column and the staircase (steps) are coming out form that column or surrounding to the column.(May be to support or balance the moment).Most interesting thing is that , the entire structure was built by Stone and having various cultural or religious sign on that.And still standing in position.

Few About VIJAYA STAMBHA :- Vijaya Stambha is an imposing victory monument located within Chittorgarh fort in Chittorgarh, Rajasthan, India. The tower was constructed by the Mewar king, Rana Kumbha, in 1448 to commemorate his victory over the combined armies of Malwa and Gujarat led by Mahmud Khilji. The tower is dedicated to Vishnu. (More About Vijaya Stambha )

20160623_122315.jpg

sonukhode

Apprentice