I am a civil engineer working for a Contractor in Vietnam

Dear All,
I have a question related to the measurement method in my project as follows:

In our preamble of the Bill of Quantities statement measurement method for piling work as:

“Measurement of piling shall be by the length of piles installed from the underside of the structure reinforced concrete base to the level of pile toes shown on the Drawings or required by the Specification.”

In the design drawings shown toe’s level and estimated pile penetration length from cut-off level to pile toe; After driving the test piles and static load test, the pile toe’s level and pile penetration length are revised (shorten); But in the mass piles pressing, the actual pile toe level was shallower, pile penetration length is shortened again, and the length of piles to be cut off was more.

The question is, in this case, the length of piles to be measured for payment is: option 1. up to the revised pile’s toe level after pile testing or option 2. the actual recorded during mass pile pressing. As my understanding option, 1 will be applied, but the project engineer measured it as option 2.

Please kindly support me with your opinions

Thank you so much!

Dnyan Deshmukh

Staff member
Piles are made at locations shown on drawing but the depth is dependent of required strata so the piling work is measured as per option 2.

Payment is made against what is measurable at physical location and not as per the drawing. you may refer drawings for measurement in cases where the dimensional deviations will not be there such as slabs and columns do have fix dimensions.

Say the pile has to go up to 10 meter depth as per the drawing, and at actual location you drilled 15 meter pile.
You need to pay for extra 5 meter depth even though your drawing says drill for 10 meter.

In similar way if instead of 10 meter you got a strata at say 3 meter, contractor will never ask you to pay for 10 meter because it is shown on drawing as 10 meter.